top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureWombok Bois

First film experience & I got hooked



What got me into film? I began my photography journey with an entry-level Digital SLR camera and stayed with it for about 2 years before moving to the Mirrorless System with Fujifilm. I decided to move on from the bulkiness of an SLR camera to something compact and small to bring around. Fujifilm truly impressed me with their Straight Out Of Camera (SOOC) jpegs and recently, their film simulation. I have never played with film simulation in my life until someone who sold me a Fujinon Lens helped me set up this 'film recipe' called Kodachrome. Although Fujifilm did not provide us with Kodachrome within its range of film simulation, we could conveniently set it up ourselves with the help of the internet. I did a brief read about the history of these recipes and fell in love with it.

Knowing some friends who were into shooting film and would be able to provide help and advice, I felt quite safe diving into it and that's how I landed myself a 35mm film camera.

What do I love about shooting film? I truly enjoy the process of shooting with a film camera, from the buying of an unusual 4LR44 battery (in year 2020) to the uncertainty of how the photos would turn out - underexposed or overexposed, blur or sharp. (I haven't explored developing films on my own yet, but it sure is in my list of things to learn in the future.)

The sound of the shutter is something I miss from back in the DSLR days and I get to shoot the film camera like it's a digital camera. It is addictive (but also expensive). Considering I'm still a student on a budget, I avoid 'clicking' without carefully composing my shots because they are costly. Hence, I use a film camera only when I want to capture special memories of a place, or a particular subject that means something to me.

I appreciate the history of photography and the creating of a short story through capturing photographs. With that, I hope to learn more about photography through experiencing it and chatting with different photographers about their perspectives. Here are some photos from my first roll of film.


Cheers

keefi boi


Lesmurdie Falls National Park, Forrestfield, Western Australia

Canon AE-1 Program

Canon FD 50mm f/1.8 Lens

Fujifilm Fuji Superia X-tra 400




Fujifilm Superia X-tra 400


59 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page